The Executive Committee conducts the ongoing business of the College between meetings of the Council. The committee makes independent decisions and recommendations within its mandate and reports to Council on its activities. It is responsible for reviewing reports from committees of Council, ad hoc committees and subcommittees.

The Executive Committee is composed of the Chair and Vice-Chair of Council, the chairs of the Accreditation, Discipline, Finance, Fitness to Practise, Investigation, Registration Appeals, and Standards of Practice and Education committees, and must have a minimum of two publicly appointed members of Council.

Through the year, the Executive Committee reviewed and recommended a number of initiatives to Council, including the examination and revision of the mandate and activities of the Nomination Committee, supporting recommendations regarding a new facility for the College, and examining the definitions and terms used on the public register.

The Executive Committee also supported professional development for the Council as a way to develop the skills and knowledge that will form the basis for Council decision-making over the next three years. For example, members of the fifth Council participated in a comprehensive orientation session that included topics such as best practices in governance, the role of the Council member, self-regulation in the public interest, and a review of the College’s mandate.

The Executive Committee participated in its own orientation session to gain an understanding of structure, activities and legislative responsibilities. Council participated as a whole in a training opportunity designed to improve its communications with members of the profession and with other members of the education community.

As part of its mandate to review issues before they are brought to Council, the Executive Committee had the opportunity to consider many College recommendations. These included several recommendations relating to a reframed Teachers Qualification Regulation and several implementation issues around the federal-provincial Agreement on Internal Trade. This agreement relates to the easing of mobility barriers for several trades and professions, including teachers, across provincial borders.

The Executive Committee has the authority to make an interim order directing the Registrar to suspend a Certificate of Qualification and Registration if it is of the opinion that the actions or conduct of the member exposes or is likely to expose students to harm or injury. During 2009, the Executive Committee made two interim suspensions and directed the Discipline Committee to hold a hearing in an expeditious manner. As well, the committee made several appointments to fill statutory, standing, regulatory and special committee vacancies as they occurred.

Executive Committee

Until June 2009

  • Paul Brazeau
  • Don Cattani, OCT (Chair)
  • Dean Favero, OCT
  • Rosemary Fontaine, OCT
  • Nick Forte, OCT
  • Annilee Jarvis, OCT (Vice-Chair)
  • Gord Hough, OCT
  • Bill Kirkwood
  • Jacques Tremblay, OCT
  • John Tucker

From July 2009

  • Dean Favero, OCT
  • Nick Forte, OCT
  • Mel Greif
  • Liz Papadopoulos, OCT (Chair)
  • Ruth Ann Penny, OCT (Vice-Chair)
  • Jacques Tremblay, OCT
  • John Tucker
  • Hanno Weinberger, OCT
  • Sharon Young Kipp OCT