Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the Chair and Vice-Chair of Council, the chairs of the Accreditation, Discipline, Finance, Fitness to Practise, Investigation, Registration Appeals, and Standards of Practice and Education committees, and must include a minimum of two publicly appointed members of Council. It meets, at minimum, four times each year.

The Executive Committee, if required by exceptional circumstances, conducts the ongoing business of the College between meetings of the Council. It is responsible for reviewing reports from committees of Council, ad hoc committees and subcommittees. The members of this committee have assisted Council when considering large policy documents.

Throughout the year, the Executive Committee reviewed and recommended a number of initiatives to Council, including support for the College’s reframed Teachers’ Qualifications Regulation, and for its professional advisory on social media and electronic devices.

The Executive Committee has the authority to make an interim order directing the Registrar to suspend a Certificate of Qualification and Registration if it is of the opinion that the actions or conduct of the member exposes or is likely to expose students to harm or injury. During 2010, the committee referred one case to the Discipline Committee and two cases to the Fitness to Practise Committee where it requested that the matters be dealt with expeditiously.

Based on recommendations of the Nomination Committee, the Executive Committee made several appointments to fill statutory, standing, regulatory and special committee vacancies as they occurred. The committee also led administrative projects such as providing input and revisions to the Council’s professional development policy.

Executive Committee

  • Dean Favero OCT
  • Nick Forte, OCT
  • Mel Greif
  • Liz Papadopoulos, OCT (Chair)
  • Ruth Ann Penny, OCT (Vice-Chair)
  • Jacques Tremblay, OCT
  • John Tucker
  • Hanno Weinberger, OCT
  • Sharon Young Kipp, OCT